The governance of the Society is the responsibility of the Council of ARLIS/UK & Ireland which is elected annually. The administration of the Society is undertaken by the ARLIS/UK & Ireland Council members. All members of the Society, other than overseas members, are eligible to stand for election to Council, to nominate other members and to vote.


Meet our Council

Council Officers

Chair & Trustee | Carla Marchesan |  Librarian and Tutor, the Prince’s Foundation and Royal Drawing School Libraries |

Hon Secretary & Trustee | Amanda J. Russell | Senior Information Specialist, School of Art, Design & Architecture, University of Plymouth |

Hon Treasurer & Trustee | Carly Sharples | Head of Library and Learning Support, Norwich University of the Arts |

Membership Secretary | Rebecca Daniels | Online Services Librarian, National Art Library, V&A |

Minutes Secretary | Lexi Frost | Senior Library Assistant (Acquisitions), King’s College London Library Services


Council Members

ARLISmatters Co-Editor | Cathy Johns | Librarian, Royal College of Art

Art Libraries Journal Editor | Erica Foden-Lenahan

Art Libraries Journal Deputy Editor | Gustavo Grandal Montero | Academic Support Librarian, Camberwell College of Arts / Chelsea College of Arts

Chair, Professional Development Committee | Nick Brown | Learning Resources Centre Manager, Christie’s Education

Co-Chair, Cataloguing and Classification Committee | Deborah Lee | Book Library, The Courtauld Institute of Art

Co-Chair, Cataloguing and Classification Committee | Yamuna Ravindran

Communications Administrator / ARLISmatters Co-Editor / Acting Webmaster | Alexandra Duncan | Academic Support Librarian, Chelsea College of Arts

Ordinary Member | Leo Appleton | Director of Library Services, Goldsmith’s University

Ordinary Member | Jeremy Jenkins | Curator, Contemporary British Published Collections, The British Library

Ordinary Member | Geraldine White | National Art Library, V&A

Webmaster | Simine Waliyar Marine | Serials / Systems Librarian,  Architectural Association Library (currently on maternity leave)


How to get involved?


We pursue most of our objectives and activities through committees and working groups that are drawn from our membership and which report to Council. At present these committees and working groups comprise:

Cataloguing & Classification Committee

Professional Development Committee

Conference Working Party